Final Stretch

So, this is it. The last few days before my friends arrive and then we head up to the Grand Canyon to do our rim to rim backpacking vacation fun time!!

Yesterday I went to REI and bought yet another new hat because I determined I hated the other one I bought and should return it. I got collapsible mug and bowl and foldable fork and spoon. Toilet paper. More sock liners. Then I hit the store and bought Pop Tarts and Cream of Wheat and other easy to carry things to go with the dehydrated meals I ordered from Amazon.

Today I’m gonna work on putting everything in my pack so I can take it to the gym tomorrow just to see how much heavier it is and walk on the treadmill with it. YIKES!!

But first, let’s get up to speed, shall we?

Tuesday gym looked like this:

db walking lunges 12×1/3 12×1/3 12×1/3 12×1/3 12×1/3 12×1/3
DB curl & press 12×10 12×10 12×10 12×10 12×10 12×10
DB overhead tricep ext 12×10 12×10 12×10 12×10 12×10 12×10
Leg press 90×10 90×10 90×10
Hamstring curls 40×10 40×10 40×10
Kept getting dizzy
Only ate lunch at 12
Bought a victory bar

I get to the gym and Tyler thinks it’s the last session before the Canyon and I’m all NO! We have three more and then he’s all well, then GAME ON! and off I go to do walking lunges with 12lb weights. I notice I am getting dizzy. Then eventually he notices I’m getting dizzy. Likely when I took a giant step backwards in a wobbly fashion. He then asked “What did you eat today?” My mind goes blank and I stare at him. “What did you have for breakfast?” Um….nothing! I had no breakfast. “OK. What was lunch?” I had a good answer for that. I made that amazing cashew, chia & flax seed crusted chicken again and had sauteed veggies. “What time was that?” Noon! “What did you have after that?” Nothing… “What time is is now?” I look at the clock. It’s 6pm.

He reminds me that I’m hypoglycemic and that while it’s not good for anyone to only eat once in a day, especially if working out, it’s especially not good for me. He then picked out a protein bar from their supply and made me eat it while threatening to make me drink egg whites. And, as you see above, he made note of it. On the actual sheet that I go to look at it’s in red. He was seriously not impressed.

So, because I had a bad day that somehow resulting in me not having food, I had a not very productive time at the gym. But!! I had time at the gym and I’m gonna count it. Boom.

Thursday gym time looked like this:

Elevated squats with pass over 3 10 / 10 10 / 10 10 / 10 10 / 10
Stepper DB front squats 3 10 10×10 10×10 10×10
Stepper renegade lunge 3 10 / 10 10×10/10 10×10/10 10×10/10
Stepper squat hops 3 10 10 10 10
Stepper single leg glute bridge 3 10 / 10 10 / 10 10 / 10 10 / 10
Stepper double leg glute bridge 3 10 10 10 10

Everything was done at the stepper. It was pretty good but I still got dizzy a bit and I’m fucking tired of getting dizzy. The end.

During the week I had a melt down. I’m anxious about the hike and I’m dealing with various people’s bullshit. And all of that woke up an old hurt and then I decided I needed to purge my life of reminders of that old hurt. So, I gave away my Roku and I bought my own.

I can buy my own damn Roku!

I can buy my own damn Roku!

It arrived on Friday and I set it all up. It’s so much newer and nicer and fancier and I’m super pleased.

During this anxiety fest I also decided to join Plenty of Fish because why the hell not. And I immediately started to get notes and so far they’ve mostly been super nice and just from men that would like to meet me and not for boning purposes. Though I think there’s been a few of those, too. But then I saw a photo of a guy that just really had a nice face. And not just, like, an adorable face. But…nice. Kind. He looks like a nice guy. Something about his face made me think he was nice so I contacted him. And we’ve been chatting ever since and we’re going out to lunch today and more on that later oh my god.

This weekend, I hiked! We have a group of people from the hiking group that likes to sometimes do things that aren’t listed on Meetup, we just put it together and invite those we want to go and I am finding I’m enjoying those hikes more. Because it’s more like doing things with friends. Even though my friends are on the other hikes, so are other people. And those people are nice but they’re not the friends group. You know? Yeah.

So, we went to Watson Lake. Sabrina wanted to put this together before my Canyon trip because she really wanted me to go. And I’m glad she did. It’s basically a lot of walking up and over granite dells and while I didn’t love all the areas, I managed to get through them all by myself. I used a shoulder once. And I got down on my butt twice. But overall? I was pleased with how I did and, apparently, so were my friends. Cindy said everytime she turned around to check on me I was smiling and she was happy for me.

It was a BEAUTIFUL hike!!

watson lake-19

The trail is marked with white dots, since the water level changes and it’s all on rocks.

watson lake-20

watson lake-18

watson lake-13

And then I took my littles on the Sunday hike and it was in a really pretty area, too. I enjoyed that hike. Riley is doing so much better on the hikes and I’m starting to enjoy having him along!

The cutest hikers ever.

The cutest hikers ever.

There was a small friend hike today but I decided to stay home, sleep in, cook breakfast, lunch, and dinner for the week, get my pack together, and just be chill before my lunch date.

I have a gym session tomorrow and we’ll likely just do stretches and active stretching. And then my friends arrive on Thursday and then Saturday we hit the road!

I’m not sure if I’ll be able to update between then and now but I shall try. Because excitement. It’s time!! It’s time!!!!

Leave a Reply

