So Many Things!

So, I hiked last weekend. Let’s talk about that, shall we.

On Saturday I hiked with the group that I like…until I hike with them. They just don’t go well with me. The hike itself was amazing and beautiful and I’m glad I went.

Superstition Mountains in the spring is one of the loveliest places ever.

Superstition Mountains in the spring is one of the loveliest places ever.

We hiked up to Praying Hands and they said there wasn’t much elevation gain, etc. on this hike but that was just not really true. The entire trail was a good, steady uphill and I did well on that part. And that made me feel amazing because the last time I hiked on a similar trail out there I had to rest a lot. But then we got to super steep, narrow trail and I didn’t like it but I was managing OK. But we just kept climbing and my head wasn’t right and I got lost in it and then I finally got a spot I hated and I stopped to think about it and the lady that is super nice but I can’t deal with her management style on the trail says “KEEP MOVING, ANDREA! THERE’S PEOPLE BEHIND YOU!” Well, no shit. I know that. I know I am not a special snowflake and I know I am not the only fucking person on the trail but goddamn. I like my usual groups method better. “What do you need, Andrea?” or they just get behind me and gently nudge me up the hill. They get me. This lady just mutters to her friend about how I need to stop listening to the negative voice of anxiety in my head. Again, no shit. But easier said than done sometimes. Especially once someone yells at me when I’m in that state. So, I found a rock and I sat on it and refused to go further.

On the way down my friends that were on the hike helped me as well as a member of the group we were with. He was very understanding of where I was and he was just really nice. But the whole thing got into my head and I’m realizing now that it actually impacted my entire week.

On Sunday I took Gladys on our nice, easy hike with our usual group of friends and there was another dog on the hike that just so happened to need a home. He and Gladys looked super cute together and it got my little wheels in my brain moving.

Buddies.

Buddies.

On Monday I made contact with his owner and made arrangements for a “trial run” to see how Gladys would feel about having a dog in her house. By Tuesday I was already renaming him and buying him a new collar, leash, and harness. So, I have an additional dog in my home. We’re a family of three now.

Couch time.

Couch time with Gladys and Riley.

But I also worked out with Tyler on Tuesday, as per usual!

Foam roller
DB SB chest press 20×10 20×10 15×10
SB crunch 15 15 10
SB arm extened plank hold knee tucks 5 5 5
rope work 20:10 3min 6 exercises x
DB single arm opposite leg shoulder press 10×10 10×10 10×10
Ski jumpers 10 10 10
Standing bird dogs 10 10 10

My hip had been bothering me for some days and I’d not stretched or rolled so he made me roll before we got started. It made a difference. I should get on that more regularly like a reasonable person. How many times have I said this now?

I’m not sure why I only did 10 crunches on the swissball on my last set. No idea at all.

He made me do planks on the swissball and then do knee tucks. He lightly held the ball but that made me feel like I wasn’t doing anything and he couldn’t make me believe he wasn’t totally holding it still so he then put it up against the TRX frame and said “Do it! See the difference?” and then I knew that he was basically just a set of training wheels and I then I did them and felt ok with my performance. It’s this type of thing that slowly made me realize that my behavior on Saturday got into my head and shook my confidence a bit and woke up my anxiety a bit more than that.

In fact, I should take a Xanax now and just kinda level off! Hang on… Back! Sometimes you just kinda need a help in leveling off, man.

On the DB single arm opposite leg shoulder press, my balance was good then it wasn’t then I was kicking out my bent leg to counter balance which Tyler said was ok, it was better than putting it on the ground, etc. Lots of balance work. The ski jumpers were for balance, too. And the standing bird dogs, I think were where I had to stand on one leg with both hands up in the air then you bring the bent leg up and crunch one arm down to meet the knee while keeping the other arm up in the air. I did not do these well. He wants me to practice this at home. To that I can only say this:

Wednesday I did home stuff with the dogs and the pool.

Thursday I did gym stuff. And I was not in a happy place in my head and my performance at the gym was bullshit.

TRX weight stick push up hold 10 10 10
TRX weight stick row 10 10 10
TRX weight stick ab extension 10 10 10
TRX weight stick crunch 10 10 10
Med ball purple push up high toss 20xLOT 20xLOT
Assisted pull ups 160×15 150×15 150×15

The TRX weight stick push up hold was TERRIBLE and I HATED IT and it was all because of anxiety and crap.

When he explained to me what the TRX weight stick ab extension was I was all “Awww, hell naw, I ain’t doing that.” But I totally did it and it was my favorite thing of the session.

The medicine ball purple push up high toss things? I had to do a burpee holding onto the ball, then a push up (which I think is actually part of a real burpee) and then pick up the ball and toss it high but far. But not like a basketball. I, apparently, have the March Madness! But I did these. In a terrible fashion.

We finished things off with assisted pull ups. They were ok.

Friday I went to a baseball game and ate a bacon wrapped hot dog and had a beer. Then I came home and did home stuff with the dogs and the pool and decided that I just should not go on the big hike today, Saturday. My friends were doing a special return trip to Oro Valley to do that second hike that scared the crap out of me. I was really very much looking forward to it but in all honestly, I just added a dog to my life. I’m away from the house 10 – 12 hours each day and he’s been couped up with Gladys, a new to him dog, during that time. The evenings have been spent with them playing frenetically then going to bed then more of that in the mornings before I leave for work. And Gladys’ whole routine has been disrupted as well. I didn’t think it was right to then also take the first day off to leave the house super early and then be gone all day again. I am going to take them hiking tomorrow morning, yes, and I’ll be home most of the day but I have plans tomorrow evening that are set. So, I let my responsible dog owner take over and I cancelled today’s hike. And it’s been really good. They’ve taken naps. They’ve shared couch space. They’ve been outside. They’re not playing like wild monkeys so much. A whole lot of settling in has started and it’s fantastic. That means that I’ll be able to start retraining Riley in some areas he needs improvement in.

Sharing space, sharing me.

Sharing space, sharing me.

I did, however, make a small grocery store list from the Whole 30 program and hit the store. Instead of buying pre-made breakfast sausage I bought ground pork and then researched what spices to mix into it to create my own breakfast sausage.

wpid-20150328_165538.jpg

wpid-20150328_165844.jpgIt is now in the fridge to let all of the flavors join together and when I get home from the hike I’ll brown it up, scramble some eggs, and I’ll have my first Whole 30 approved meal. It’s just too bad I also bought milk and ice cream at the store. Ooops.

I also went to REI and spent my dividend check plus some of my own cash. Because my dividend was not that huge. But it was huge enough to totally pay for a new hydration pack that I can wear on my super easy hikes. My day pack is now too big for that. That’s for my long day hikes. This pack will be for my Sunday hikes. And I bought three pairs of hiking socks and now I am all set for socks for the canyon! Also, thanks to my dividend check I know that I spent $1,050 on hiking gear last year! But only $600 of that was eligible for dividending. I bought some stuff on sales that were far too good to pass up.

Well, the Xanax has kicked in, which is good timing. OH, but I should also add that I got rid of three more things in the 1,000 Things Challenge before I close.

Good bye stuff!

Good bye stuff!

The mouse and monitor are being donated to a group home for kids so they can do homework and the earbuds that Gladys chewed up as a puppy were tossed in the trash, as they should have been last year when it first happened.

What I have now realized in my own head on my own, which is great, is that I need to try to not let people like that one hike lady get to me. I need to change how I respond to that so I don’t regret my behavior later. That’s going to be a challenge. And I need to rely on myself again. I’ve got a friend on the hikes that I have realized is my security blanket. She’s not always going to be there. And it’s not fair to her, really, to have to slow down or whatever when I call to her to get me through something. I need to rely on myself. I can do that. These are things for me to work on.

And now I will run. I’m feeling too groovy to type!

 

Leave a Reply

