No time to waste on coming up with a catchy title!

We have a lot to cover. Let’s go!

Day: Thursday 2/19/2015 Weigh-In: Session Duration:
Exercise Set Reps % 1RM Set 1 Set 2 Set 3
DB Bosu ball chest press 20×10 20×10 20×10
Med ball slams 30×10 30×10 30×6
Step burpie to squat hop 10 10 10
Decline sit ups 10 10 10

I didn’t do a lot this session, as you can see. But he gave me a pass because I did a lot of new stuff.

The bosu ball chest press was new. I had to lay down on the bosu ball while maintaining my balance and doing chest presses. That was OK. For my first time he said I did really well.

The medicine ball slams I seem to recall being weird and convoluted and wore me out. I’m thinking they were the ones where I had to squat down to pick it up then as I stand up I lift it over my head with one arm and then slam it down, alternating arms. And, yeah, that shit wore me out.

After that he took me to the side and I could see him thinking and then he said “Yeah, this…” and I accused him of making it up and he totally admitted that he made it up. I had to straddle the step, then do a burpee, then squat down, then stand and jump fluidly in one motion onto the step, then jump down and then grab the step and do another burpee then repeat. It was a lot. I was tired.

Add in the decline situps that I hate and this session was kinda lame. But he said it wasn’t and that was that.

On February 21st we did a 10.3 mile hike at South Mountain, which is part of the National Trail. My anxiety was high for some reason so I wanted to leave and go home to get some quiet. I was all twitchy and everything just seems so loud and I was like a sponge to other people’s stress and strife. Instead my awesome hiking friends gave me the walkie talkie and let me hike alone for a bit and then I caught up and it was glorious. It really did me a world of good being able to hike alone for a bit.

Hiking alone, leaving my stress in the dust.

Hiking alone, leaving my stress in the dust.

Then on Sunday I did the easy hike with my girl, Gladys. She is such a little hiker! She’s very well behaved, social, and happy. I love it.

Happy hikers.

Happy hikers.

Monday I took her for a wee walk around the neighborhood but it was cut short by my adult responsibilities. Stupid adult responsibilities.

Day: Tuesday 2/24/2015 Weigh-In: Session Duration: 60
Exercise Set Reps % 1RM Set 1 Set 2 Set 3 Set 4
High step ups 10 10 10
Band side steps (green band) 20 / 20 20 / 20 20 / 20
Band front walks (green band) 20 20 20
Band back walks (green band) 20 20 20
TRX single leg lunge with hop 2 10 / 10 10 / 10
SB supinated hamstring curls 2 15 15
SB single leg glute bridge 2 10 / 10 10 / 10

We started this session, as you see, with high step ups. It was high. But after my latest hikes I’m glad we did these!

Then I had to put a band around my ankles and sidle around. It’s harder than it looks.

On the band front walks I kept popping up too high so he told me to pretend I was sneaking up on someone. At one point a hot dude was down at the other end that was my ending spot so we acted like I was sneaking up on him and Tyler laughed because that totally worked and I maintained the proper form better and? Held my hands in the “I’m sneaking up on you” position. I’m a creeper, obviously.

Then I had to do the TRX single leg lunge with a hop! This is where I put one foot in the TRX handle and then lunge forward. But then add in a hop. For some reason I could not do this with my shoes on. So, barefoot TRX lunges it was! And that helped me with my form and balance and everything. I’m odd.

When I did the first single leg glute bridge? I was way too loud because ouch. He stretched out my leg and that was ouch, too. So much ouch.

On Wednesday I took Gladys for a longer, more interesting walk in the neighborhood. One with goats and horses and chickens. She enjoyed it much better. She stopped to look at all of the critters but never tried to chase or bark. She’s a good little thing.

Why did the chicken cross the road? Gladys!

Why did the chicken cross the road? Gladys!

Day: Thursday 2/26/2015 Weigh-In: Session Duration:
Exercise Set Reps % 1RM Set 1 Set 2 Set 3
Hs incline chest press 20×15 20×15 20×15
HS low row 50×15 50×15 50×15
Lat pull down underhand grip 50×15 60×15 60×15
Tricep cable push downs 50×15 50×15 50×15
DB seated shoulder press (no back) 12.5×12 12.5×12 12.5×12
DB standing bicep curls 12.5×12 7.5×12 7.5×12
Rotator cuff work

All I remember about this workout was that the first four exercises he had me do heavier weight than I’ve used and he helped me out a lot. But he said that totally counted. I’m unconvinced.

Then while I was doing the dumbbell presses and curls he noticed my right arm moving in a weird way and determined my rotator cuff needs to be strengthened and gave me more exercise to do at home as I stretch and roll out. Nobody wants me to sit on the couch and have free time anymore. Nobody. Curses!

Then on Saturday I traveled to Oro Valley with some of my hiking friends for the Move Across 2 Ranges event!

Check point one.

Check point one.

The first hike was in the Tortolita Mountains and it was 9.5 miles with 1,975 feet of elevation gain! I got a little far behind my group for a bit because there was a series of switchbacks that scared me. They were steepish and narrow but I managed it just fine. And I just know realized that I managed it just fine by myself! Huh. But they kinda realized that it was an area that likely scared me so they stopped and waited for me to catch up to make sure I was ok. One of them admitted she was glad I didn’t turn around. So, they know.

I took pictures of the scenes from time to time but none of them really capture how beautiful this area is. It was so lovely and awesome and it made me gasp from time to time at how lucky I am to live in such a gorgeous place.

I wish I remembered more details about the first hike. I just remember the scary of going up that one area. The beauty. The making it to the top. The changing of my socks and the wind being so cold. Then coming back down and realizing that, yeah, I just did that and that I was going to go ahead and do the second part, too!

The second part was at Catalina State Park in the Catalina Mountains 5.5 miles, 1,370 feet elevation gain. The miles and the elevation gain were taken from the information the event people gave us when we arrived.

As we’re driving to the second hike location we’re approaching these tall, rocky looking mountains and we keep saying “Um…that’s not what we’re doing, is it?!” And, you know. It was. It really was. So we get there and we start on our way and it’s fine and in a wash and then suddenly we’re climbing up this mountain. I’m doing ok. It’s fine. It’s steep and rocky but fine. Then? Holy shit I see wide open space and I freak the eff on out. From that point forward I was a sweaty, anxiety filled mess that did, in fact, cry for a bit as I continued to walk forward while also, out loud, berating myself for torturing myself this way. “Who does this?!?!” I proclaimed. Cindy says “Mountain goats!” “WELL I’M NOT A MOUNTAIN GOAT!” I answer. All the while continuing to climb and move forward up the mountain. Because I was NOT going to turn around. I was NOT going to give up. I was going to finish this scary as hell to me hike and so I did, dammit.

When we arrived to the checkpoint I got my passport stamped and then I said hi to the others in our group and then I removed myself and cried, sobbed really, for five minutes to release all of that fear and anxiety that needed to get out before I started going back down. And that worked. I was slow going down but I didn’t cry. I didn’t yell and cuss. I did sit down and scoot down a few rocky areas that I didn’t really want to be tall and on my feet for. But I made it. I finished. I did the hike I set out to do and I did it with the help of Cindy and my own force of pure stubborn will. But I did it! WOO!

Afterwards we went to the afterparty and won some prizes and then went to eat Mexican yums.

Once I was home I let Gladys outside to pee, I put Gladys to bed, I took a shower, and I went to bed with wet hair and all and slept the sleep of the very tired.

Sunday we woke up and went on our easy Sunday hike to make sure our bodies stay active.

We like to show off our event t-shirts the next day.

We like to show off our event t-shirts the next day.

This hike is the same hike I did with this group last August for the very first time. Sabrina said I was very cautious on that hike as to how I would place my feet and that I would get a laugh out of that now. And I really did. Because this hike is easy, lame, and ugly. So boring! I’ve come a long way, baby!

Day: Tuesday 3/3/2015 Weigh-In: Session Duration:
Exercise Set Reps % 1RM Set 1 Set 2 Set 3
Assisted pull ups 110×10 130×10 150×10
LF crunch mach 70×20 70×20 70×20
Seated cable underhand row 40×12 40×12 40×12
Tricep cable push downs 50×15 50×15 50×15
HS incline chest press 2 20×12 25×12
Back extensions 3 15 15 15

I had no idea I was still weak from the weekend. None. My warm ups were ok. My body felt fine. Then I got up on the assisted pull up machine and stood on the platform and it went down and then my arms pulled me u..u….u……u…….p and then I lowered again and then I engaged my arms and, yet, there I dangled. It was horrible. I got the giggles and then that just made me weaker. He helped me on the rest of that set and all of the second set. I managed to pull myself up all ten times on the third set. Good lord.

The LF crunch machine just felt all wrong on my lower back and we moved the seat and changed the weight and finally the last set was ok-ish after he dropped it to 50lbs for the last 10.

The seated cable underhand row was ok. As was the tricep cable push down. Until I felt my neck/shoulder area go twinge.

I did the incline chest press and the back extensions ok. It only seemed to twinge when I did everyday motions. Standing up, sitting down, flipping my hair away from my face. So he made me roll it out and that hurt like hell. It’s on the left side. The right side feels fine. The left you can literally see the knot. So now I have to roll that and my right hip and my everything and work my rotator cuff and not just sit and stare at all ever.

Today is the one year anniversary of me working out with Tyler at the gym. It’s been a great year.

One year gymmingversary selfie!

One year gymmingversary selfie!

I’ve not lost weight but I have gained confidence, new abilities, better posture, and better health. All good things. So if I have to continue to know how to dress myself in ways that make me look fabulous while I know what is going on underneath there? So be it. That’s fine. In fact I may even celebrate this momentous occasion by baking brownies.

I am now in the process of scheduling and planning harder hikes between now and the end of May so I can continue training and improving and practicing my skills to prepare for the Canyon. Which is only 88 days away.

Holy shit. That's really soon!

Holy shit. That’s really soon!

I better go get on all of that!

Leave a Reply

