Beginning of the Year

I stayed up last night until 10pm! That is due to me using East Coast time when convenient to my needs. I was born there, so I think I’m ok doing that. Why must we all be awake when the calendar changes anyway? I mean, really?

This post will kinda be all over the place. It’s the first day of the year. The first day of the year is like that.

I was up at 6am to get ready for a cold, cold morning hike at South Mountain.

wpid-screenshot_2015-01-01-15-13-28.png wpid-screenshot_2015-01-01-15-13-40.png wpid-screenshot_2015-01-01-15-15-21.png

I decided that for the big incline I would wear a medical mask over my mouth to keep the cold air from getting into my lungs while I huffed and puffed my way up the hill. I didn’t want to have to stop and turn around. And? I it worked really well!

The part of the hike in Hidden Valley with the smooth rocks that scare me and caused me a panic attack last time did not cause me a panic attack this time. Yes, I was nervous. No, I don’t like it. But I did so much better and moved so much faster and there you go.

After that I head straight to the Staples because today was the very first day that it was acceptable to fax in our application for Grand Canyon backcountry permits!

Official PDF forms!

Official PDF forms!

I got it all faxed in and now we must wait to see if we are approved! They say it should take about three weeks. Fingers crossed!!! This will give us the official date and people can start putting in for vacation time, buying airline tickets, and making reservations. We’ll have a real, actual date to mark on our calendars for this!! THIS IS A BIG DEAL AND I AM SO EXCITED!!!!

After that I went to the grocery store because despite not being a superstitious person I just couldn’t allow myself to not eat something green today or have corned beef. But I didn’t want to cook an entire corned beef and the deli didn’t seem to have any corned beef available. So, I bought pastrami. Then called my Mom to see if that would be like the same thing. We determined it was close enough! So I made grilled pastrami and swiss sandwiches on rye with pesto. The pesto is green. Bam!

The pastrami of luck. The pesto of good fortune.

The pastrami of luck. The pesto of good fortune.

When I sat down to edit the photos from my hike and get them posted I also started my photo book for 2015. I am so far behind in getting my photo books completed that I don’t want to add to that. So I’m going to try to update the photo book at the same time I edit and upload photos. That should make it way more manageable!

Christmas was then removed from my house and that was sad. I love having Christmas around. But! Part of me taking Christmas down and storing it away was getting the ball rolling on the 1,000 Things Challenge. I had already been thinking that it was time to finally, once and for all, get rid of all of the ornaments that no longer have any special meaning just to me or may have some sad connotation to it that is just not worth having. I don’t want negative stuff hanging on me tree, afterall. So, I sorted that stuff out and will take it to Goodwill. I shall keep a running list of the things I get rid of and hopefully I can actually clear my space of at least 1,000 things!

Time to move on!

Time to move on!

So, to start:

1 – Holiday Ski Bear ornament that my ex-husband bought as a joke with his co-workers
1 – Bambi ornament – haven’t put this on the tree in ages
1 – Santa ornament – ditto
1 – mice ornament that I wrote 1996 on to be our 1996 ornament
5 – red ball ornaments that we bought the day after Christmas the year we got engaged in preparation of having our own tree the next year
6 – Gingerbread people ornaments that I bought from my ex-husband’s cousin as a fund raiser that I haven’t used in ages
Total: 15 items!

And, yes, I will count each individual item and not just the box. The rules allow for that.

While I started this blog to track my progress with getting to the canyon I think that I like it being a progress of my overall health. Not just my fitness health. All of my healths. Physical and emotional healths. New year, new goals, new plans, new projects.

Happy New Year! I hope it finds you happy, healthy, and working towards things that will continue both for you.

One thought on “Beginning of the Year

Leave a Reply

