Comforts

For Christmas my Dad gave me some cash. With this cash I ordered hiking and camping supplies.

First I ordered my hiking poles, which I’ve already displayed but will again for my own benefit, I guess:

So legit!

So legit!

I have used them on a handful of hikes now and I am really glad I have them. They do come in handy!

Then I ordered a camping chair, a sleeping pad, and a camp pillow. Sure, I’m backpacking and camping my way down, across, and up the canyon but dammit I’m gonna be a wee bit comfy while I do it!

Just now I thought I should try to set up the chair to make sure I know how. I do not. I may need to take it to the store and ask them to show me. First off, this is all the direction they gave me:

This is worse than IKEA!

This is worse than IKEA!

So I did what I think it told me to do and this is how it looks:

I'm not sitting in that. I don't want to break my ass.

I’m not sitting in that. I don’t want to break my ass.

Doesn’t look right, does it?

So then I tried to put it back into the stuff sack and that didn’t go well and I said a lot of curses and creatively tossed in the phrase “stuff sack” as often as possible while doing so.

Yo momma's a stuff sack.

Yo momma’s a stuff sack.

I’ll try that one again later.

Here is my camp pillow. It made me feel a wee bit more successful:

camping gear-4

I can roll a light weight pillow, y'all!

I can roll a light weight pillow, y’all!

And yes I am already in my pajamas. Don’t act like you’re not.

I was going to unroll my sleeping pad and do all of that but the camp chair broke my spirit so I did not even take it out.

I hold things with my feet like a monkey.

I hold things with my feet like a monkey.

I should, though. Before the hike. And I shall. But only after I master that camp chair. One obstacle at a time, right? Sure.

Leave a Reply

