“Once again there was the desert, and that only.”

(quote from “The Gunslinger” by Stephen King)

I spent the weekend hiking in the desert! Saturday was an 8 mile hike with over 900 feet of elevation gain! It was a really nice hike and I enjoyed it, even if my hips did get really tired and ached. Part of the hike was the Union Peak trail. It is very steep and the last time I went up it I was a wee bit nervous and acted like myself. Yesterday I was FOURTH in line going up and I kept up, even with my breathing making me sound as if I may die. But I did it and when I got to the top I was seriously smiling hardcore.

I am a cheeser.

I am a cheeser.

I didn’t take a lot of photos because we, for the most part, were hauling ass.

Today we had two hikes scheduled. However, I went ahead and cancelled my RSVP for the second one since I am in charge of watching Wendy’s animals and I didn’t want to mess up their schedule too much. But it was good that I went ahead and cancelled because as soon as I started hiking my right ankle hurt like hell. I walked the entire four miles with my ankle feeling like shit. Good idea? Likely not but I did it, so there.

I did, however, take a lot of photos on today’s hike. It was a really lovely area.

Before the hike I listened to two men discuss the movie and book version of “Wild.” I have no idea what book the one man read because it was NOT “Wild.” And that’s all I have to say about that. I just wanted to make note of that for some reason. My blog, my things!

We are now all up to date. We are so happy.

Leave a Reply

