Storms

This past Thursday there was some big ASU game and my trainer texted me as I was on my way to our session to ask if I’d be ok cancelling. He thought his carpool was going later but they were not and I let him off the hook because I am very nice and understanding. And humble and modest.

That means no gym update for Thursday.

Today I woke up for my hike but there was lightning all around and it was humid as all hell. But I checked the meetup group and they were still planning on going so I got myself ready and hit the road.

The entire drive there was gorgeous! It was still dark and the lightning was lighting up the sky in just a most spectacular fashion. And I saw some really well defined bolts here and there, too. Which also meant that I was very much like “we are NOT going to hike, this is dumb, why am I still driving?!??!!”

But keep driving I did. All the way to the trailhead. And others showed up. And the temperature had dropped significantly and I was actually cold. And we watched the lightning to the East of us. And then we watched it as it got further and further away. And then the fog rolled in.

wpid-20140927_060251.jpg

Then? Off we went on our hike! And it turned out to be a gorgeous hike with gorgeous sunrise and clouds. And the temperature was perfect. I really enjoyed it.

However…I wore my new hiking boots, sock liners, and socks. And by the end of the hike my heels were NOT blistered. But, my feet were so damn tired and that normally doesn’t happen. Like, once I took off my shoes and walked in my flip flops I was hobbling around because my feet were that sore. I felt hot spots, I guess is what you’d call it, in different areas that I don’t usually have them in. And the two toes that have been feeling numb (for lack of a better descriptor) since last weekend really hurt on this hike and for a bit after. Right now, sitting here, they feel fine.

I have put together photos to show you my feet. Do not judge them. I have not gotten a pedicure in some time because I do not see the need as I am hiking every weekend. The end.

This is the left heel where I keep getting the blister. It is not blistered after today's hike and I did NOT wear a bandage over it. Just the sock liner and the sock. It's just all hard, dry, almost callusy skin that looks gnarly. But not blistered. That's the positive.

This is the left heel where I keep getting the blister. It is not blistered after today’s hike and I did NOT wear a bandage over it. Just the sock liner and the sock. It’s just all hard, dry, almost callusy skin that looks gnarly. But not blistered. That’s the positive.

This is the area on the left foot that just felt like it could become a blister but isn't. It's never been sore wearing my other boots. That same area on the right was sore but not as sore as the left. I think.

This is the area on the left foot that just felt like it could become a blister but isn’t. It’s never been sore wearing my other boots. That same area on the right was sore but not as sore as the left. I think.

wpid-20140927_152104.jpg

These are the toes that have felt dead/numb/pinched nerve-ish all week.

SO! I’ve talked to my sister and her husband. He hikes the Appalachian trail and she has had jobs that keep her on her feet a lot in the past. My Mom called. My Dad had nothing.

This is what I am trying to decide for my hike tomorrow:

1. Right now I have my custom made insoles in my old hiking boots. My thinking is that these boots have only given me heel blisters, the rest of my feet were happy. Until I took a 9 mile hike. So maybe the insole that came in the boot is just not compatible with my feet. So, custom made. My plan is to wear these boots with the custom insoles, the sock liner, and the socks.

2. The new hiking boots did not give me blisters, they just made my feet super tired. Should I instead put the insoles in them and wear them with the sock liners and socks tomorrow to give them another go?

I never knew that trying to figure out boots would be such a headache for me. Other people are all “I just bought boots and off I went and never had a blister!” And to those people I give a silent “la dee dah.” Because I’m mature and irritated. ha!

Today’s hike was just over 5 miles and we did it in 2 hours. We do stop a few times here and there and we always stop to take a group photo. So it’s not just straight hiking. But I love it. I still love it and I want to do it all the time. My feet just need to get on board  with this.

Leave a Reply

