New areas of pain

When I got out of bed Thursday morning I immediately realized that for the first time in a really long time my muscles were really, really sore. But, like, new muscles. Muscles I likely didn’t even think were muscles. Like the ones that sit over your shoulder blades. Those hurt. Because of the Pee Wee Herman Tequila dance moves we did. And my inner thighs hurt. From squeezing a ball as I did push ups on my toes and all of that ballet type stuff.

All day long. Hurt.

But I go on to the gym because it’s Thursday and that is what I do!

I get there early, as I do and I did almost 10 minutes on the treadmill with an incline of 8 and a speed of about 2.6. My legs hurt, hush.

Tyler shows up and asks how ballet was and I tell him how sore my all of it is and he’s all what all did you do? And I start to tell him all of it and his eyebrows raise in that way that kinda indicates “huh…impressive…I didn’t know it would be all that!” and then he said “That was an awesome work out. But what did you leave for me to work today?!” So I told him what hurt and he questioned about my abs and I moved and said “no, they’re fine” which is weird since we did a lot of crunches at the Ballerobica.

So, off we went over to the decline sit up bench. 3 sets of 10. Ugh. I’d go really strong until around 6 or 7 and then I was grunty and face making.

Then I did the dumbbell curl and press with an 8lb weight. 12, 15, then who knows how many I did because neither of us were counting and so I just did them until my form started to get bad due to fatigue. I suspect it was well over 20. But I can’t verify that.

Then I did the decline bench leg lifts. 3 sets of 10 really ugly lifts. Like, really ugly. But I did them and while they were ugly they were also more like the just keep going motion that he likes to see. So there was that.

I did Bosu ball crunches. 3 sets of 10 really good ones. I could feel it, though. Owwy.

Then he decided that I should try balancing on the Bosu ball again. Which I did better than the last time we tried it. Then I squatted on the Bosu ball. The first time squatting my legs were wiggly and it just feels weird because you’re not really in control of your legs at that point. But you can learn to be. And so we had me balance and then squat for three sets. I don’t know how many reps I did but each time I was steadier and my legs weren’t as wiggly jiggly on the squat and it was pretty good. Getting on and off still sucks. But it was all major improvement!

Then he had me jump up onto a low box to teach me how to land softly like a cat and not all hard and solid like a cow. Which is how I’ve always done my whole life. He’s noticed this when he has me do the jump up on the step thing with other exercises. I land hard. I plant like BOOM! Then he had me jump off of a higher box for the same reason. I’m not very capable of landing softly and my knee knows that. I shall practice jumping off of things softly. Like a ninja. With good knees.

So, after the work out he said “So, you’re going to sign up for the ballet gym, right?” and I told him that I was thinking of doing it and he fully supported that and I was all “Because this was hard at first but I came back” and he was all “yeah you did and look at you know!”

Look at me now. *pose*

Then Friday I went and hung out with brand new people I’d never met before and that was a grand time. If they put together more gatherings, I will join in the fun. And then today I’ve kinda done nothing. Not even swam laps. I’m getting lazy again in my off time. I need to nip that shit right in the bud!!

This coming week I will be gymming on Monday and Wednesday.

And right now I will go and determine the best financial package for the ballet gym and check out their schedule and fit that into my life and budget.

And? After the ComiCon…I need to get a better plan for my foods. Tracking it, reducing how much of it I eat, what I eat, and all of that. Nothing really major in the way of changes…just small changes that will make a difference.

There’s a plan of attack. Just not yet a ninja attack. BOOOM!

Leave a Reply

