Reclaiming the Peak!

Before I go into today’s hike I want to back up and tell my new sport socks that I am super sorry I did not give them the attention that they, truly, deserve. Because They do. Good socks with padding and compression and arch support are awesome! I had no idea what a sock could truly be. But I do now.

socks

Yesterday I went to Jerome to shop, eat, and photograph stuff. And I wore these super flat shoes with no padding or support and a pair of my new sport socks. And my feet were happy and never got tired or sore and I could feel the support and it was just the best thing ever. I may just get rid of my normal socks and only use this type of sock from this point forward for the rest of my days! Seriously. Go socks!

Now, let’s get down to the business of today!

Today I had a hike scheduled with my friend, Liatt, at Piestewa Peak. It was the first time I’d gone back since I hiked it on my own. Today I was determined to stay out of my head, enjoy Liatt’s company, talk his head off if I need to, and to go further than I had yet.

Done, done, and done.

My pace was good. My footing is improving. I can feel that my legs are stronger and I trust all of that more than I have in the past. Higher and higher we went!

wpid-20140414_170603.jpg
wpid-20140414_170609.jpg
wpid-20140414_170619.jpg
wpid-20140414_171115.jpg

We made it to the spot that was my previous furthest hike yet in about half an hour, which was pretty good. And I felt good. I was all “Let’s keep going!” and going we did.

Since the next part of the trail was totally new to me I slowed down. I always do. I don’t know how it looks, I don’t know what to expect, and I slow down. But we went and went and went some more. We discussed whether we should keep going or turn around. He was sore from activity over the weekend. I felt ok but I’ve been having trouble with my right knee off and on. I felt like I could keep going but I didn’t want to over estimate my stamina and not be able to get down the mountain in a reasonable fashion. He agreed. So we saw a big rock and said “We’ll turn there.”

Off we went to the rock, we both touched the rock, then the high five of “Yay!”

wpid-20140414_171358.jpg

We rested a few minutes then off we went back down the mountain.

I am not as slow coming off the mountain, either. But man did I feel it in my right knee! It was a good call to turn when we did.

We have another hike scheduled for two weeks and our goal will be to go higher still. Today’s hike took us an hour and a half. Not too bad. Not too bad at all.

I felt great. I feel great! It’s just really awesome for me to see my progress in this way. It didn’t hurt that when I first got out of the car he was all “You look fantastic!” That never hurts.

Tomorrow is gym day. I hope my knee doesn’t muck things up.

Leave a Reply

