Let’s get physical

I scheduled a physical to ensure that I’m healthy enough to do all of this hiking and working out and that I’m not going to just fall over dead at any point.

wpid-20140313_083442.jpg

The doc’s main concern after listening to me, doing all of his doctor stuff, etc. was my allergies. He indicated that if I treat them I’ll sleep better, feel better, have more energy, etc.

Then they took blood to make sure nothing weird is going on and gave me a tetanus shot.

wpid-20140313_092045.jpg

Then that evening I went to the gym. I go Tuesdays and Thursdays right after work.

We did more squats! What a shock!

But then we also did leg presses and pull ups. And instead of saying “I can’t” when he said to do something I said “I’ll give it my best!” and he was very pleased.

He put 50 pound weights on the leg press machine for my last round and I did them. It was hard but I did them.

Then for my last round of pull ups I was basically just pulling up my own body weight. He wanted me to do 1o. I was able to manage 6. He asked me how I felt about that and I explained that I was disappointed, that he wanted me to do 10 so I should have done 10. He asked if I felt that I’d be able to do them if we tried at the beginning of the session and not the end. I explained that I had no idea because I’d never tried to do pullups so I didn’t know if I could do them earlier or not and that, given that I’d never done any before, that I should likely be happy that I did 6! instead of sad that I didn’t get to 10. He then was all “there you go!” He’s very good.

When I left the gym I was tired…but I was smiling! I walked out of the gym and to the car with a smile on my face.

I’m improving the all of me. Step by step.

My doctor emailed me my lab results and they were all fantastic! I was mostly impressed that I have good cholesterol levels. People seem to think I have pretty bad eating habits so when I saw that most of my labs were right where they should be I kinda wanted to do a world tour that would just be me eating Oreos while wearing a shirt that said “Suck it, haters!” but that’s not very realistic. Or mature.

So, instead I just bragged about my good cholesterol on Facebook. Like we do.

cholesterol
I’m healthy! Just out of shape. But I’m working on that. Because of the improvement I mentioned up above.

Leave a Reply

